Quechua and Aymara declared official languages in Peru's region of Puno

A new ordinance asks regional authorities to introduce the teaching of both languages “at all levels of education” · 41% of the region's population speak Quechua and a further 30% speak Aymara · The oficialisation of both languages is foreseen by the Peruvian Constitution

The regional government of Puno has passed a regional ordinance according to which Quechua and Aymara have been declared official languages, alongside Spanish. The ordinance specifies that the languages will be official "in their relevant geographical areas" and also within "all public administration".

Speakers of indigenous languages make a majority of Puno's 1,143,000 inhabitants. According to a projection of official statistical data, 41% speak Quechua and 30% speak Aymara.

The ordinance of the region of Puno follows Article 48 of the Peruvian Constitution, according to which "official languages of the State are Spanish and, wherever they are predominant, Quechua, Aymara and other native tongues in accordance with the law".

Moreover, the ordinance asks regional authorities to "gradually" introduce the teaching of Aymara and Quechua "at all levels of education" and to strengthen bilingual programmes in "basic education" level.