Nation profile

South Tyrol

General information
520,447 inhabitants (Istat, 2015)
7.400 km2
Autonomous Province of Bozen-South Tyrol, with autonomous Parliament and Government
Major cities
Bozen (Bolzano), Meran (Merano), Brixen (Bressanone), Brünick (Brunico)
State administration
Territorial languages
German and Ladin
Official languages
German and Italian (throughout the territory), Ladin (in Ladin valleys)
Major religion
Christianity (Catholicism)

South Tyrol is an autonomous province of the Italian Republic, one of two making up the Autonomous Region of Trentino-South Tyrol.

South Tyol was a part of Austria until 1919, when it was transferred to Italy. Trentino-South Tyrol was granted self-government within the framework of Italy in 1947. The South Tyrolean movement —made up of both peaceful and armed organizations— insistently demanded separate self-government for South Tyrol during the 1960s. In 1972, most of the powers held by the autonomous region were devolved to its two constituent provinces, that is Bozen-South Tyrol and Trento.

The South Tyrolean autonomy is warranted by a bilateral agreement between Italia and Austria.


Administration: Province of Bozen-South Tyrol
Governor (president) of the Province: Arno Kompatscher, South Tyrolean People's Party (since 2014)
Political system: autonomous province with its own government and parliament
Distribution of seats in the Provincial Council or Landtag (2018 election). 35 members: 
  • South Tyrolean People's Party (SVP, Südtiroler Volkspartei, centre-right autonomist, German- and Ladin-speakers' interests): 15
  • Team Köllensperger (center autonomist): 6
  • League (Lega, right to far-right regionalist): 4
  • Greens (Grüne-Verdi-Vërc, centre-left regionalist): 3
  • The Liberals (Die Freiheitlichen, right to far-right pro-independence): 2
  • South Tyrolean Freedom (Süd-Tiroler Freiheit, right-wing pro-independence): 2
  • Democratic Party (PD, Italian centre-left): 1
  • 5 Star Movement (Movimento 5 Stelle, Italian big-tent): 1
  • Bürger Union: 1
  • L'Alto Adige nel Cuore-Fratelli d'Italia (right to far-right, Italian nationalism): 1
Electoral system: proportional
Government: Coalition SVP-Lega


Province of Bozen-South Tyrol

Language and Culture
European Academy Bozen EURAC (in Glemany, Italian, Ladin and English)

Neue Südtiroler Tageszeitung

(Last updated December 2019.)