Nation profile

Faroe Islands

General information
51,783 inhabitants (2019 estimate)
1,399 km²
Parliament (Løgting), government
Major cities
Tórshavn, Klaksvík, Hoyvík
State administration
Kingdom of Denmark
Territorial languages
Official languages
Faroese and Danish
Major religion
Christian (Protestant)
National day
29 july (Saint Olaf Day)


Capital: Tórshavn
Prime minister: Bárður á Steig Nielsen, Union Party (since 2019)
Provincial system: autononomous country within the Kingdom of Denmark
Distribution of seats in parliament (2019 election): 33 members:
People's Party (pro-independence, liberal-conservative) - 8
Social Democratic Party (soft unionism, social democrat) - 7
Union Party (unionist, liberal-conservative) - 7
Republic (pro-independence, left-of-centre) - 6
Centre Party (pro-independence, christian democrat) - 2
Progress (pro-independence, liberal) - 2
New Self-Government (soft pro-independence, social liberal) - 1
Electoral system: Proportional system with a single electoral district that covers the entire archipelago.
Government: Tripartite coalition made up of the Union Party, the People's Party and the Centre Party
Degree of self-government
The Faroese have enjoyed a fair amount of political autonomy since 1948, when Denmark granted it to them to prevent the archipelago from declaring independence.


Faroese Parliament
Faroese Prime Minister
Political parties
Website of Republic
Website of the Union Party
Website of the People’s Party
Website of the Social Democratic Party
Website of the Centre Party
Website of Progress
Website of New Self-Government
Language and Culture
Málradid (Faroese Language Board)
Faroese-other languages dictionary
Kringvarp Føroya, Faroese public broadcaster
Dimmalætting, island’s oldest newspaper (in Faroese)
Sosialurin, Faroese newspaper
Vikublaðið, Faroese weekly

(Last updated December 2018.)