Nation profile

Aosta Valley
Vâl d'Aoûta, Vallée d'Aoste o Ougschtaland

General information
128.810 inhabitants (2011)
3.263 km²
Valley Council and Regional Government
Major cities
Aosta, Saint-Vincent
State administration
Italian Republic
Territorial languages
Francoprovençal or Arpitan, and Walser German
Official languages
French and Italian
Major religion
Christianity (Catholicism)

The Aosta Valley is one of the Italian autonomous regions with a special statute, alongside Trentino-Alto Adige, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Sicily and Sardinia. Its devolved powers include control over the economy, agriculture and environment, town and country planning, education and culture.

The country maintains historical and linguistic links with neighbouring Savoy and Valais. A pro-independence movement emerged there in the 1940s. The valley gained self-government in 1948, after the end of WWII, and saw French recognized as its official language alongside Italian.


Capital: Aosta
President: Laurent Viérin, Union Valdôtaine Progressiste (since 2017)
Political system: Autonomy with special statute within the Italian Republic
Distribution of seats in Parliament (2018 election). 35 members:
  • Union Valdôtaine-EPAV (pro-autonomy, centre) 7
  • Lega Nord (Italian federalist, right) 7
  • Area Civica-Stella Alpina-Pour Notre Vallée (AC-SA-PNV, pro-autonomy, centre-right)
  • Union Valdôtaine Progressiste (UPV, pro-autonomy, centre-left) 4
  • Movimento 5 Stelle (M5S, big tent anti-establishment) 4
  • Autonomy Freedom Participation Ecology (ALPE, pro-autonomy, centre-left) 3
  • Impegno Civico 3
  • Mouv' (pro-autonomy3
Electoral system: Proportional, with a single constituency
Government: Autonomist coalition, led by Valdotanian Union
Degree of autonomy


Institutions and laws
Aosta Valley Autonomous Region
Aosta Valley's Special Statute
Political parties
Union Valdôtaine
Union Valdôtaine Progressiste

(Last updated May 2018.)