In brief

Syria recognizes independence of Abkhazia, South Ossetia

Georgia to sever diplomatic ties with Middle Eastern country

The flag of Abkhazia.
The flag of Abkhazia.
The Syrian government, via its Foreign Affairs ministry, has recognized the independence of Abkhazia and South Ossetia as a “gesture of gratitude” towards both Caucasus republics “in their assistance against terrorism”. The three governments have announced the opening of embassies.

The Georgian government ha said that, in response, it will terminate diplomatic relations with the Middle Eastern country. Georgian Foreign minister Mikheil Janelidze has called the Syrian decision “a blatant violation of international law”. But the two Caucasus republics have predicted they will receive new recognitions in the future.

Abkhazia and South Ossetia have had de facto independence from Georgia since the early 1990s. In 2008, Russia officially recognized their independence.

Besides Russia and Syria, the only UN members currently recognizing the two countries are Nicaragua, Venezuela and Nauru.